facial recognition for dogs

A friend sent me this message today

“Hola,    I just saw an app that is facial recognition for dogs. You take their picture and register them. When they are lost a person takes a picture of the lost dog and it searches a data base for a match.”

I have to say  I got very excited, what a fabulous idea.  As soon as I got home I did a Search on ‘dog facial id’.

Imagine, you find a lost dog, why not a cat too. You take its picture, scan it in to some regional or even national database, and if the dog is registered you find its rightful home.

qué horror!   I come to find out there are several of these programs out there!

http://www.findingrover.com/

http://www.petrecognition.com/

how do they communicate, with whom do they communicate, do they share information, or must someone know of each app and search each one.

I just hate the prospect of thinking there is help only to find it is so cumbersome that no one will do it.  OR  What if I don’t know of all the possible databases to search and miss finding my dog by one unknown.

lost-and-found-1

 

much more research is necessary!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in animal care, Animal Rescue, Everyday Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to facial recognition for dogs

  1. Steve Cotton says:

    The way things are going, dogs will start carrying their own mobile telephones. When they go on walk about, they will call their masters and ask: “Just where are you?” Jiggs would have added his own language.

  2. And all this time I thought one bulldog looked like any other bulldog. Same for collies and golden retrievers, etc. How could I have been so wrong?

Leave a Reply

