Me and my first go at getting an INAPAM card

Here in Mexico, once you reach 60 years of age, you may receive an INAPAM card.

INAPAM stands for  Instituto Nacional de las Personas Adultas Mayores.  Some of the benefits and objectives of INAPAM are to promote human development of older persons by providing comprehensive care to achieve high levels of well-being and quality of life within an inclusive society. To do this they strive to develop and maintain ongoing relationships with various lenders to offer attractive discounts on health services, food, transportation, clothing, home, recreation and culture and miscellaneous items, and other offers to help preserve the income of the beneficiaries.

It is now December 2014.  And I turn 60 this month.  I happily traipsed to the INAPAM office, the one where we got Tom his card several years ago.  They’ve moved.  New address, if you are interested is calle 61 #444 x 50 y 52, Merida, Centro.  Just FYI there is a very economical parking garage just in the next block, almost midway down.

INAPAM office

this is the facade of the new office

So I went in, armed with all the info I would need based on what I read on the web page.  I had the originals and copies of my official identification, and the original and a copy of a utility bill, as well as two photos.

I stood in line, filled out my form when I got close to the front of the line and sat in the chair with the attendant when it was my turn.  Sadly, you must have achieved your 60th birthday, not just be in your month.

Unfortunately my birthday falls on the 24th of December. City offices will be closed through till probably Jan 6, 2015.

Guess I’ll have to go back!  My packet is ready, and so am I!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Tramites and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Me and my first go at getting an INAPAM card

  1. Pingback: INAPAM and CITUR- turning 60 in Mexico is a good thing. - What do I do all day?

  2. babsofsanmiguel says:

    I use my card all the time. Some farmacias give additional discounts on meds as well as the water company gives discounts with the card! Air travel, bus travel have substantial discounts. It’s good to have……..

  3. Pingback: It’s official! | Debi in Mérida

  4. Bonnie Wrenshall says:

    Sorry Debi, my typing skills seem to have diminished!

  5. Nancy Walters says:

    still need those corrected cross streets and I am not seeing it in the post girlfriend. Sorry to miss your birthday this year but know I will think of you on Christmas Eve as I am freezing my buns in Portland OR.

  6. I cannot believe you thought you could get the card when you are still 59! With the bureaucratic fixations the locals have. You had nary a prayer.

    I’ve had mine about a decade now. I almost never use it except for bus tickets, and it’s really great for that. Some museum admissions too, but I usually forget about it. Every time I’ve tried to use it for some medical thing, it has not worked. They always have some excuse for not accepting it.

    But for bus travel, it’s great.

    • You should try using it for zonas arcaeologicas, and things like State fairs, free! And sometimes, not all the time, but depending, things are a bit relaxed and things happen – it was worth a shot!

  7. Stephen says:

    Hi Debbie–
    Helpful information. Are you 100% sure of the posted address: “calle 60 #444 x 50 y 52.”
    Thanks!
    –Stephen

  8. joliet13 says:

    Don’t rush it…you have to wait your turn to be in your 60s with the rest of us!

  9. Yep you have to actually be 60 to get it I went to use mine the other day for the first in Uxmal and the attendent was non too pleased…. even my guests commented on his look at seeing my card..Just saying

    • I plan to use mine, bad looks be damned! Mostly I want it for ADO tickets, and discounts at farmacias and biomedicos. Oh, and those pesky yearly ultrasounds and mammograms. Oh heck, I might even take advantage of a discount movie ticket once in a while!

      • Bonnie Wrenshall says:

        Hi Debi, I know this post is a year old, but I think I will give it a try. Can you please confirm the correct address for this organization? Thank o much and Happy New year to you and your hubby and all your four footed family.

Leave a Reply

