Followup on Mariposa’s move to Canada.

On 9 November I posted about sending one of our rescue dogs to Canada.  This is the first time we’ve been unable to place one of our rescues, unless you count the 3 that live with us.

Mariposa

This is Mariposa in our yard.

IMG_0621

and this was my last vision of her. You can’t see her eyes, they still haunt me!

It has been a heart breaking and guilt ridden experience.  But there is good news.

9 November was the flight.  Once received at the LCHS all dogs go in to a holding/quarantine area until they have been observed and temperament tested.  If the animals history and medical records are known they pass through faster.  Once they have completed all testing and are deemed ready, and if there is room available they move to the Adoption area.

I stressed, and fretted, and worried.  She was in our home for 10 months, she had never been kenneled, and crated for only short periods of time when she first came to us.

I heard through the grapevine that the staff loved her, spent time with her, took her out and played with her.  Now I know they do that with all the dogs, it just made me feel better.

Just a few days before Thanksgiving I saw her posting go up on the LCHS page.  She was not yet released for the adoption area because there just wasn’t room, But she was getting face time.

Then on the 29th she was featured on a video spot  by NiagaraBuzz.

Also on the 29th I got word she had an adoption pending.

1 December I got word that she has gone to her new home.

She is still on the LCHS facebook page as Adoption Pending, but I am sure they will love her, there is just no way you couldn’t.

I sent a bunch of stuff with her, a sweatshirt, her durabone, a favorite pull toy, all her medical documents, and a 2 page’r all about her, including my email.  I am hoping the new caretakers will contact me.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in foster animals and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Followup on Mariposa’s move to Canada.

  1. blissinger says:

    I’ve been fostering rescued dogs and pups for three years now, and most of them have gone on to good homes, no glitches, just photos of happy new owners. But then my foster almost-standard-size poodle rescue Tall Tom was transported to the States. First he was placed with a frail elderly man who fell down when he insisted on walking the dog. Back to fosters, then to another new home, where he was rejected because nobody had taught him not to jump up, and he knocked over their three-year-old. He’s now on his third adoption and I’m praying this one sticks!

Leave a Reply

