Lemon Tree very pretty

Lemon tree very pretty and the lemon flower is sweet

But the fruit of the lemon is impossible to drink

lyrics to Lemon Tree Song

It is citrus time here in the Yucatan.  The trees are full of fruit, and the fruit is plentiful and inexpensive.

But even better is when a friend has a tree hanging heavy and needs to share the bounty.

I have a sour orange tree, typically called a seville orange in the USofA, and I have a small grafted tree that is half lemon and half lime.  I have found lots of ways to use the sour orange juice but we don’t yet get enough lemons for much than an occasional small pitcher of lemonade, or for a fabulous lemon fish dish.

My friend Mitch has a small quinta outside of town and recently indicated he had an excess of lemons.  I asked for 2 dozen or so.

Want to guess what I’m making…

IMG_0691

IMG_0693

here’s a blog post I did several years ago with the recipe I use, click here

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Everyday Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lemon Tree very pretty

  1. nancyhoag says:

    LIMONCELLO!!!!!

Leave a Reply

