Mango Sorbet

As usual,  I don’t think about blogging a thing till I’m  halfway through doing the thing!

The other day I bought half a dozen beautiful little ataulfo mangos, they were ripe, ready to eat right then and there.   And of course I realized once I got home that we were not going to get around to it!  The eating I mean.  So I decided I needed to do something, and in some wild flight of imagination I decided to make mango sorbet.

Who knew how easy sorbet is to make, surely not me!

mangoes

you peel the mangoes and squish all the pulp into a blender or food processor.  Based on how many mangoes, you make the appropriate amount of simple syrup, or heck, you could just buy simple syrup.

For my 6 mangoes I used 1 cup water and 1 cup sugar, heated to melt the sugar, and then cooled, and the juice of 2 limes.

Then just process till smooth.

You can use machines to freeze your sorbet, but I don’t have that either.  I think the machines would make the sorbet smoother and creamier, mine is a bit like an icee or a slushie.  But it is damn tasty!

sorbet

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mango Sorbet

  1. Joanne says:

    Check out the Yonana machine. We have one and I buy mangoes in season, peel and slice and freeze for later user. I love ataulfo mangoes and make them into sorbet or whatever you want to call what the Yonana does. Just mango, no sugar, no syrup, nothing. Heaven!

  2. marjorie ratcliffe says:

    sounds wonderful from here in the far north under a slurpee of snow and iceMarjorie  Marjorie Ratcliffe Professor of Spanish Literature Department of Modern Languages and Literatures The University of Western Ontario London Ontario Canada N6A 2K7 mratclif@uwo.ca      519 661 2111(85849)

    “Teachers are bridges, helping students to cross, then collapsing so as to encourage them to create their own”(Kazantzakis). From: Debi in Mérida To: mratclif@uwo.ca Sent: Monday, February 9, 2015 3:25 PM Subject: [New post] Mango Sorbet #yiv3164873637 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv3164873637 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv3164873637 a.yiv3164873637primaryactionlink:link, #yiv3164873637 a.yiv3164873637primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv3164873637 a.yiv3164873637primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv3164873637 a.yiv3164873637primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv3164873637 WordPress.com | Debi in Merida posted: “As usual,  I don’t think about blogging a thing till I’m  halfway through doing the thing!The other day I bought half a dozen beautiful little ataulfo mangos, they were ripe, ready to eat right then and there.   And of course I realized once I got home ” | |

Leave a Reply

