Mexico City, Distrito Federal, DF – whatever you call it, we made it!

We have passed through Mexico City several times, always going somewhere else. Usually making plane connections, but once we transferred to a bus, but again, we never really left the airport.

This time we are here for 5 days. I found us a hotel in the Roma District, really close to lots of stuff, we should be able to walk just about everywhere.

So, once we arrived at the airport I had two options for us to get to our hotel, one was to bus and metro it; I have good directions, and if we were traveling light that would have been my preference, I love those types of experiences. We normally travel pretty light, we each typically have one carry on size bag, and a hand carry bag. This trip however we are packed heavy. So taxi was the proper choice.

Now I had done some research and knew that to get from the airport to our hotel should cost about 200pesos. The first taxi ticket booth I stopped at quoted me 340pesos, that was yellow cab. I declined and went over to another taxi ticket stand. BTW You buy your taxi ticket inside the baggage claim area, then exit with your baggage and make your way to the area of the taxi you purchased. My second stop was at a stand for Sitio 300, here I was quoted 215, This one I accepted.

ok, all you people who complain about the driving in Merida, this place is off the hook crazy. OMG!

However, they let each other cut in, yes, by millimeters, they wave others over, very little honking unless you stop and are afraid to move out, but dang, oversll quite crazy scary, yet somehow civilized.

can’t wait to check this place out,

suggestions, connections, whatever you want to offer will be considered, and appreciated!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in DF, Districto Federal, Mexico City and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mexico City, Distrito Federal, DF – whatever you call it, we made it!

  1. blackdogblog says:

    I did a post about our two weeks in Roma Norte, with lots of suggestions on places to eat and things to do… It’s here: http://www.countdowntomexico.com/2014/10/21/two-weeks-in-roma-norte/

    Have fun!

    • debi says:

      great, Thanks. I’ve not kept up with my reading since we’ve been traveling. we too are in Roma, just a few blocks from the angel.

Leave a Reply

