The Right Tool for The Right Job

The right tool for the right job, we’ve heard that since we can remember hearing.

One of the things Tom and I frequently marvel at is the way people here in Mexico can do so much with the most basic and rudimentary tools.   In the USofA, if you were having some cement work done the ‘crew’ would roll up in a huge dually pickup truck with a custom topper full of a gazillion different types of tools.   Here, two guys will show up with a bucket with a few very basic things that they fabricate into different tools as needed.

Well the same advice, the right tool for the right job goes, for the kitchen as well.

I have a few electrical kitchen appliances, my cooking needs are fairly simple, I don’t do too much ‘fancy’ stuff.  I have a food processor, well actually 2 food processors, one large, and one small.  I have a crockpot, aka, slow cooker, a small electric convection toaster oven, and a blender.  Oh, and I have a small George Foreman grill which I love, I can roast veggies, heat a quesadilla, toast sandwiches, and cook a slab of salmon.

The blender, a very cheap blender mind you,  was purchased about 8 years ago when friends were coming to visit and expressed a keen interest in frozen margaritas.  It’s actually come in handy for other things as well over the years.  A few months ago, ok maybe a year ago, the lid started cracking and bits and chunks started breaking off.  I carried the broken lid around with me for quite a while thinking I’d buy a replacement.  I have yet to actually do that.

Yesterday I was making a big tray of roasted cauliflower with a raisin vinaigrette to take along to an evening event.   Now the proper tool for a very liquidy emulsion such as a vinaigrette in which the softened and cooked raisins need to be macerated is a blender, a proper blender with a proper lid.  WARNING – DO NOT ATTEMPT THIS AT HOME   I, being the brainiac that I am, decided oh what the heck I’ll just put a small plate on top and hold it down,  WRONG!

Hot sticky vinaigrette ingredients went everywhere, balsamic vinegar, olive oil, honey, raisins, it was a mess.  After I got that cleaned up I then, ok, roll your eyes now, decided to do it again, but with a silicone pot holder between the plate and the top of the blender, pretty much the same experience.  I ended up getting the large food processor out, food processors don’t like really liquidy things, that is what the blender is for, but it worked, it too was messy, not as messy, but it worked.

Note to self, really need to buy a new blender!   maybe a pretty red one!

24deblenderebf1-e9c1-4488-9d03-0b88016ff938-848x1020

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Right Tool for The Right Job

  1. John Calypso says:

    Cheap blender parts seem to abound here in Mexico; the blender being a very popular kitchen item – almost essential. We love our very expensive Vitamix blender. Definitely the right tool at a major cost. We travel with ours.

    • indeed, parts are readily available here too. I just can’t seem to remember to look for a new lid when I am out!
      I thought about a VitaMix for many years, but oh my, the pricetag!

  2. norm says:

    We have a small tool for whipping things, it has a head like a blender cutter but it is at the end of a wand. We use it for smoothies, mashed potatoes, it will puree about any soft idem. The nice thing is it fits in a drawer . The cutting head pops off with a button so the mixing part is the only thing that goes in the washer.

    • I have one of those little wand things too, I should put it someplace easily accessible! mine doesn’t come apart, but I bet it would have worked, I guess I should find a jar it will fit down in to! good idea!

  3. You should be able to buy a new lid at the supermarket or at one of the repuesto stores like Aguilar downtown. You can even buy a whole new jar, with lid, and blades pretty cheaply here. You might try putting the cracked lid on, then covering it with a towel, then holding it down. That is what I do when I need to blend hot liquids (first I remove the “peep hole” lid so the steam will escape some). I do a couple of bursts then go full on.

    regards,
    Theresa

    • I just need to remember when I am out that I need the darn thing, I guess I could tie a string around my finger…..
      if next time you see me I have 500 strings, well you know!

Leave a Reply

