Fitflops, a good thing can’t always last forever!

I have raved about FitFlops for years.   My friend Deb turned me on to them.   I have planfitflop trademarkar fasciitis in my left foot and boy have these flops made a huge difference.

When we went to Spain in 2012 I wore nothing but Fitflops for 30+ days of nonstop walking, same thing in 2013 when we went to Italy.  I even boasted about doing several legs of the trails at the Cinque Terre in FitFlops.4f77c-hcinquecaminar24

This year we just did a month, well nearly a month travelling about in Mexico, and again, FitFlops were my everyday, all day choice.  This year however it was a newer pair that I got just last Fall whilst in Houston.  They were so comfy, and sort of a taupe color so went with everything.

During the travelling in Mexico I started experiencing all sorts of back and right hip pain.  I thought it must be because of my purse, so started lightening it, jettisoning more and more stuff from our daily excursions.  It didn’t help.

About 3 weeks after returning home home, I was cleaning the shoes I had taken, one nice thing about FitFlops, a bit of soapy water and a scrubbing and they are all sparkly clean again.  Well I noticed that the heel of the left sandal was compressing, it was now significantly lower than the right heel.  That was my ah haaaa moment,  that is what was causing the problem with my hip and back.  fitflop

I started a long dialog with FitFlop UK, because that is where they come from.  My inquiry, and concern was about some change in either manufacturing, or materials.  These are not cheap shoes and I sure didn’t want to get another pair if this was going to happen again. They, FitFlops (Billie) was fabulous, and were ready to send me a new pair, and all I had to do was send them the failed pair.  Well as you can imagine, sending these shoes from Mexico to the UK could be quite expensive, and then may or may not make it.

I explained I could get them to the USofA via a friend heading North, and also have the replacements sent to the USofA for future transport down here.  Well, that required my case being transferred to the US Division.  Complete story change when dealing with the USofA.  No longer a replacement pair, but they did send me a 20% off coupon that I could use to order a new pair.

I am so disappointed, but will search the net for pairs of older styles and stockpile a few pair.  I guess  good things do sometimes come to an end.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff, fitflops and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Fitflops, a good thing can’t always last forever!

  1. Never heard of Fitflops. I’m a Crocs man myself.

  2. Connie Anderson says:

    Debi, Go to http://www.6pm.com/FitFlop. They have lots of FitFlops at reduced prices. Yours were Lulu Slide, I think, they are listed for $58.72. That’s 35% off and free shipping in the US. I just googled
    FitFlops and this was the top of the long list. Hope this is some help. From a fellow Flip Flop lover.

  3. Kevin says:

    Don’t you hate automatic settings … I thought I spelled “Britain.”

  4. Kevin says:

    Do you know anyone from Great British who could mule them across the Atlantic?

Leave a Reply

