My new tat!

I’ve been talking about getting a tattoo for ages.  I always talk about an arm band or shoulder arm piece.   I scour the internet for ideas.

Finally a week or so ago it came to me, and it was perfect, I want a compass, and it needs to be where I see it all the time, so my left forearm is my desired location.   Then I decided it needed ornamentation, so I worked out a sleeve design cobbled from several pieces I found also on the internet.

I made an appointment with Edgar at Oceano Tattoos and showed him my ideas.  I had printouts of all the things I was taking from one place or the other, but nothing that showed exactly what I wanted, That is his job.

My appointment was today at noon.  He showed me what he had worked out, and I liked it, a few things to tweak, unfortunately I forgot to give him the exact font for the lettering…

IMG_1549

OCEANO Tatuajes

Calle 60, Por 55 y 57 #486 (upstairs),

Centro, 97000 Mérida, Yuc.

 999 232 9040

So first things was to place the stencils,

tattoo background

this is the stencil, It is mirrored on both sides of the rectangle which represents the space for the compass.

then he did some hand drawn connections to aid in the flow of the sleeve

IMG_1551 IMG_1552

Then time to get to work.  This took 4 hours.  The first 2 were laying down the ink over the stencil outline.  This wasn’t bad at all as far as pain is concerned, and I actually liked the light color and openness of all the loops and swirls.  But no way was he gonna let me stop there!

IMG_1553

The 2nd 2 hours was a different story, this was the enhancing and filling in, and finishing part.  There were a few places where it was seriously uncomfortable, I just went to the music, closed my eyes, and sang in my head as loud as I could.  A couple times he had to tap me and tell me to stop moving.

So after it was all done, and I had my home care instructions he shrink wrapped my arm so no dust or dirt would get in on the way home.   I walked to where I catch the bus that past my house, and got home about 4;45pm and I was starving, so ate a salad first, then checked on the stray kitten we took in on Saturday, then unwrapped, and by then it was so wet with sweat, it just rolled out of the plastic.

IMG_1556

I washed it, and greased it with vitacilina and here are hours old fotos!

IMG_1558

inside forearm, N points towards my thumb.

IMG_1561

this is the top of the lower arm, wrist is down.

IMG_1563

and this is the backside of the forearm, what you’d see if you were behind me. The sleeve wraps completely around the forearm.

 I really love everything except the letters.  After he filled in the N I had him not fill the others, I may make an alteration.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to My new tat!

  1. Adrea Montgomery says:

    I think he did a most beautiful job!!!! It looks really great

  2. I got my first tattoo in 1962 right outside Rantoul Air Force Base in Illinois. It was not trendy in those days, but I started the trend that continues to this day, the trend of people with IQs over 80 getting tattoos. Before I came along, only bikers (like those dimwits in Waco) and sailors had tattoos, but I changed all that. After me, smart people got on board, and now everybody’s doing it. I have never been recognized as the trailblazer I was, not a cent in profits. Does not seem fair. I went on to get five more tattoos, one from the legendary Lyle Tuttle in his San Francisco parlor in 1963. I got my final tattoo in New Orleans in 1970.

    Then in 1995, I started having them removed, lasered off, which ain’t fun, and now I have only one. No matter. I like tattoos, and yours is very nice.

    • deep curtsy to you for your forward and progressive thinking. Now why in the world are you having them removed? opening space for a new generation of ink?

    • maybe you should show us the one you have left. I have an ankle tat, and am planning some embellishment for it.

      • I got mine before the freehand, artsy offerings you see these days were common. Mine came right off the wall, boilerplate stencils. I really like what’s available these days. If I were younger I would get one, but what’s the point now? What I have left is on my left forearm. It’s a green snake wrapped around a skull, three inches high. No kidding.

  3. princesanancy2012 says:

    I really like it Debi, but then I am a lover of beautiful tattoos and this certainly is one. No gain without pain. It looks worth it to me. Congrats.

  4. Kevin Donegan says:

    This is your second tattoo. Don’t forget about your permanent eyeliner 🙂

Leave a Reply

