24 short hours without my sight

I just spent 24 hours with eye patches taped tight to my eyes.

24 hours, not like a lifetime, but my oh my do I have a heightened respect for the toughness and determination of blind people, not to mention the vulnerability.  

Luckily, for me, I spent the time in my own home, where I sort of know my way around, and where I know where things are supposed to be.

My sense of distance and space frequently betrayed my steps, I frequently found myself too far or not quite to my destination.

It was rewarding this morning I managed to get from the patio, back into the house and then to the bathroom, where I was able to brush my teeth, shower, get clothes on etc.  Something I typically take for granted..this morning became a prideful task.

This morning the patches were removed, and I am greatly relieved, if it were only so easily possible for others.

here we are on the way this morning to have the patches removed!

IMG_0188

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 24 short hours without my sight

  1. Lyn Hurd says:

    I had this surgery in the States a few years ago because of failing eyesight. Sounds like your proceedure was very similar except I did not have my eyes bandandged shut at all. I know Dr. Jesus, too! A very competent professional! You look great post op! If need be, ask any me any questions that might help you through your recovery, OK? The results are worth the experience. You’ll see…hugs!

  2. Elaine says:

    I hope that all went well when the patches were taken off and life is a ray of sunshine again. I look forward to “the rest of the story”

  3. you must wait, for the rest of the story!

  4. Kevin says:

    And why do you have patches over both eyes?

Leave a Reply

