I’m in a Book Club

bookclubs2aw

I’m in a Book Club.  

I’ve never been in a Book Club before, unless you count being a member of GoodReads

Today is the first meeting.  We, I like that, WE meet at local restaurant/bar, some come early for lunch before, and others come just for the meeting and discussion.  I’m in for the whole enchilada so am going in for lunch as well.

I read a fair amount, and tend to have several books going at one time. I read a wide variety of things so this should be interesting.  stack of books2

I’ve never thought of myself as a particularly deep thinker and reading the current book selection, and knowing it would be a point of discussion has made me think more about what I am reading than is usual for me.  I tend to read as an escapism tool, to relax and detach from the outside.

The book selection I came in to is Still Alice.  It is a 2007 novel by Lisa Genova, which is about a woman who suffers early-onset Alzheimer’s disease.  I found the book easy to read and understand.  It was so sad to experience through the reading what the woman was going through.  It was funny a few times I thought I must have allowed a few pages to flip on me because I knew I had just read whole bits of text, only to realize it was the writers tool to demonstrate one of the aspects of alzheimers, short term memory loss.

I have a small understanding of the illness having spent time with my grandmother as she spiralled down into what was diagnosed as dementia.  And now seeing the same symptoms in my mom.

It will be interesting to have a discussion about the book. I am looking forward to the experience.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I’m in a Book Club

  1. Anna McIver says:

    Hello is the book club still on? Ive been looking for one in Merida
    Thanks
    Anna

  2. Andrea says:

    I heard about the book and I will red it. I will get back to you!
    Thanks for letting me know.

  3. tancho says:

    Can you have a Kindle club?

Leave a Reply

