of African American Interest

I subscribe to a number of feeds that push out e-books.

Living in Mexico it is often difficult to find books in english, add to that an e-reader, in my case a kindle, is way easier to travel with. Anyway, one of the feeds I subscribe to gives a picture to go with the book, a brief synopsis of the book, and then it lists the genre; Historical Romance, Thriller, Action Adventure, etc. I've recently started noticing a new 'genre', African American Interest'. What the heck does that mean? African American History, African America Culture, ???

This is an example of a recent book listed as African American Interest

Ninth Ward Blues by Janelle Smith Toussant

Ninth Ward Blues
By Janelle Smith Toussant

Tracey Dubois has a passion for music and the vocal talent to make her dreams a reality. But her visions of fame are waylaid by handsome JP Baptiste… A heartrending coming-of-age tale set in New Orleans.

Free! $3.99

Amazon



Now this books only apparent African America Interest seems to be that the characters are Black, we must presume of African American descent. Is that what it takes to be of African American Interest, I mean this sounds like a Romance to me.
I bought the book, and will read it, for no other reason than because I love New Orleans and its music scene. I can now hope to learn something about African Americans too. If the characters were of Chinese descent do you think this same book would have been listed as Chinese American Interest?
Am I missing something?

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to of African American Interest

  1. I think you should ask Oprah this question!😀

  2. You are missing the U.S. obsession with black people due to the PC phenom and victimology. Chinese folks, on the other hand, are not the fashion. The obsession with black people is prominently displayed in the White House where a clearly biracial (half black, half white) president resides, but everybody calls him black. You best bone up on these things before moving back to the U.S. to avoid making dreadful social faux pas.

  3. Andrea says:

    I do believe you do! A lot of “white” people immigrated to Africa. Especially to South Africa. I all happened long before the “Boure War” These immigrants were usually of European Decent.
    For the longest time those people stayed with their own, due to every culture and religion.
    By now not every African is black or white! I am sure that we cannot be for sure anymore about, about who contributed what to whom. I think that concept has already spun out of control

  4. I’m with you, Debi! This concept could spin out of control – Native American, Islamic, Eskimo, Pacific Islander, etc. interest. Soon enough we’ll lose all sense of fiction categories.

Leave a Reply

