Save the good stuff

As a kid, I always remember if we had good clothes we had to save them for ‘special’.  I grew up in a household of diminished financial resources, isn’t that just so very PC!

We, the kids, my 2 brothers and I, didn’t often get new stuff.  Well I got new stuff a little more often because I would get hand me downs after my 2 cousins had outgrown things, so 3rd hand, but it didn’t matter because it was new to me.

Anyway,  we were always made to keep the good stuff for occasions.

I remember once, as a young girl, I got a Cinderella watch, watchcomplete with ceramic Cinderella on which the watch could rest. cinderella I rarely ever wore that watch, because it was ‘special’.  Then my youngest brother took it, and left it in his pocket and it got put through the laundry.

 

 

To this day, if I have something I really like, I tend to keep it, for an occasion.

This silly little T-shirt is one of those things.  IMG_2128

I really like this little T-shirt, I don’t know exactly why.  So it mostly hung in the closet.  Then a month or so ago I got it out for an ‘occasion’, and there it was that little hole.

IMG_2126

So now I wear this little T frequently, hole and all.  I may actually repair the hole, but continue to wear it for everyday.

We rarely outgrow the stuff we grew up with do we?

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Save the good stuff

  1. Joanne says:

    Every day that we are alive is a special day, a gift. Use the stuff.

    My paternal grandmother was notorious for saving things for a special time. Comes from losing everything you own and running for your life to Canada, then going through the depression. She saved every gift she got, when she moved to a nursing home my parents found boxes upon boxes of chocolates that were spoiled, boxes upon boxes of fancy soaps that were still good. It was a bit crazy. I remember that, so I do not save anything for a special occasion, I use it all. Why not celebrate life while we have it?

  2. Andrea says:

    You are SOOOOOOO Right with that statement!!!!!!! It is a wonderful way to remember those “special” things and occasions.

  3. Judy says:

    Great post Debi. Yup! We have to use our “good” stuff everyday. I’m getting out my mother-in-laws good (fabulous) tablecloth this weekend and using it.
    I’m going to make my table pretty.

  4. blissinger says:

    I recently went through my warm-weather clothes and found a LOT that were comfortable and looked fine, but they had tiny white dots on them! I clean up after foster dogs a lot and use bleach because it kills the parvo virus and other germs, but it splatters on my clothes. So now my bleach-dotted clothes are in a special basket, to be worn around the house. I’ve also been thinking about the beautiful gold-trimmed Noritake china my mom left me five years ago that I have NEVER used, and started thinking I should wash it and start serving on it. By the way, I like your white t-shirt! Guess a moth got to it… I never wear white, I would just get stains on it and it would end up in my “homewear only” basket.

  5. Patti says:

    We are so lucky to have special memories and sentiments. Often if we only use items on special occasions they are indeed seldom used. I do recognize this shirt of yours which must mean that I have been privileged to see you wear it on a special occasion. Nice post Debi.

  6. Patti says:

    We are so lucky to have special memories and sentiments. Often if we only use items on. Special occasions they are indeed seldom used. Nice post Debi.

Leave a Reply

