whip

whip

We live in the tropics, you can’t be wimpy about bugs n critters and live in the tropics.

I’m pretty cool about most bugs n snakes…with one exception – I hate cockroaches.  Cockroaches give me the heebie jeebies.

And that is one reason I love the little guy in the picture – His name is Whip, he lives in our house, and he is quite active, and not really afraid of us at all.

Whip is a Tailless Whip Scorpion, and he eats cockroaches.

Whip is but a youngster, I hope he lives here till he is quite old, protecting me from scorpions!

 

Tom decided to call him Whip, I think we should call him Devo,  click here to discover why

 

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to whip

  1. Well, I’ll be a monkey’s uncle. I never heard of that critter. Don’t step on him in the middle of the night, or you’ll lose your cockroach killer.

    After 18 years in humid New Orleans (especially) and 15 years in Houston, I know cockroaches, BIG cockroaches. There’s no getting away from them. Though I’m no fan, they really don’t bug me all that much. Better than big spiders.

    You picked the wrong area of Mexico. Here in Pátzcuaro, I’ve probably seen five cockroaches in 16 years. And they were little ones. And I’ve never seen even one scorpion.

  2. bonnie817 says:

    I am with you on the cockroaches Debi, they creep the crap out of me! Didn’t know that “Whip” is the cockroach enemy! I will never be creeped out by whip and his ilk again!

Leave a Reply

