Our first Saturday

Tom hung my hammock.

I have back and hip issues, sitting in a car for 7 days, and then lifting and carrying LOTS of boxes has not done me any favors. Under normal circumstances the borrowed air mattress would probably have been fine, but in these circumstances it has not. I have been in pain.

 

Today started out better, I slept a good part of the night, and woke without pain. Ah but then I moved a bunch of boxes upstairs. Good Grief!

We've decided to move the boxes all upstairs, unpack and bring down what we want to, repack other stuff for future use, and try to get the downstairs habitable. Too bad we didn't come up with this hairbrained idea when we had 2 hired workers here yesterday. ayeaye

I made breakfast, which we ate as if all civilized, we bought a small card table yesterday, and a few mesh chairs, almost like having a dining room.

Then as I was putting stuff away I remembered the Forest Hill Farmers Market on Saturdays. So off we went.

It's a nice market, full of variety, and quite high prices. I used to buy acelga (aka swiss chard) all the time in Merida, 5.5 – 6 pesos for a bunch, a bunch here, about 2x the size is 1.50 at the super, and 3usd at the farmers mkt. Never the less we bought a few things. It was quite crowded, for a drizzly overcast day.

we'll go back, lots of locally produced stuff.

Then spent more time lugging boxes upstairs, goodness my butt and thighs are killing me, not to mention my back.

Put more stuff away.

Did more shopping, scored big time at the Salvation Army store, brand new slow cooker for 20 bucks, and 3 WearEver Anondized Steel pots with lids all for under 20 bucks.

Found the mattress we're going to order.

Then bought a trunck full of stuff for outside, wire and stakes to start my compost, potting soil, some pots, drill bit set, chain, cord, bird seed, feeders, and miscellaneous bits n pieces.

And even had a late lunch at Panera.

so overall a very full, productive day.

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our first Saturday

  1. teresa freeburn says:

    p.s. just checked out your old blog and found the posts about italy-i will read each and every one when i have more time. we lived in sicily from 82-84 while my husband was in the navy! absolutely love the country and hope to someday spend as much time traveling there as you did. i know just what you m ean about the olive oil-most foreigners or at least those we knew, suffered from “the sigs” short for sigonella and the italian version of moctezuma’s revenge, when they (we) first arrived.

  2. teresa freeburn says:

    give your back, hips and butt a break! unpacking can wait-take care of your body.

    teresa in nagoya

Leave a Reply

