ah, the garden

Many of you may remember my Merida garden –

This is how it looked when we bought the place –

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

During the first few years I made a deal with myself to once a day fill one cubeta (5 gallon bucket) with trash and glass from the yard. The yard had been the trash barrel for I can’t even tell you how many years.  We paid previous to this, and had nearly an entire dump truck of refuse removed from the garden. The daily removal didn’t happen, but usually about once a week I would fill a bucket.

Now, in Richmond, I once again have a large garden.  This is what it looks like when we purchased it.

yrd

Now I am collecting gum balls.  We have 2 large Sweet Gum trees.  They are big and beautiful and give us lots of shade and bring in lots of birds.  sweet gum trees

Unfortunately they also produce and drop gum balls.

Today was my first collection, I didn’t even make a dent!

gumballs

I no more than filled this bucket and turned and saw enough gumballs to fill 2 or 3 more buckets.

Maybe tomorrow!

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff, life in Richmond. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ah, the garden

  1. Andrea says:

    Sorry I couldn’t give you replay sooner, I was in South Africa. But I had gum balls in Missouri as well, and I know how hard it is to get red of them! On top of it, they hurt my dogs feet pretty bad.
    I hope you be patient enough, to rake them all up! Take a break and drink a cold one, every so often.

  2. dcgadfly says:

    But here in Merida, you (and Tom) turned a back yard into a garden, a house into a home and a ‘fixer-upper’ into a lovely and inviting restored piece of Merida history. Good luck as you work your magic on your new turf.

    • yes indeed, and it was a complete labor of love. it is an amazing garden in Merida, so peaceful and tranquil, with so many birds and butterflys. I planted specifically to bring them in, and it worked.
      who is this btw, dcgadfly? just curious

Leave a Reply

