my first GRTC ride

I took my first trip on the GRTC yesterday.

GRTC = Greater Richmond Transit Company, or aka, the city bus.

When we first got to Merida I used the city buses alot, then after a few years I got a car and used them less, maybe only once or twice a month. and usually just when going in to Centro Merida.

We are now in Richmond Virginia, and {GASP} only have one car. So yesterday Tom was installing a new window in the new old house, and we both just knew he'd need to run to Lowe's or Home Depot several times. He actually went to both! several times.

And I needed to get to the Theatre to buy tickets for an upcoming performance of DreamGirls. And since Tom is bollocks with public transportation, and I actually enjoy it, I decided to take my first city bus outing.

Online, the GRTC offers a Plan Your Trip function, you input where you want to go, and from where, and it will plot your course complete, bus numbers and with timetable. So that's what I did, worked pretty well. Once I got to the transfer area my second bus, the 37, didn't actually go where I wanted, but the driver instructed me to a number 16, and it dropped me right where I wanted to go.

Buses are way more expensive here. You get your first destination for 1.50, and add A single transfer for another .25, exact change only. No money exchanges hands here, a machine collects the money and spits out a card for your transfer, or change. In Merida a bus was 7pesos per ride. If you needed to transfer, another 7pesos.

So I got on the bus yesterday, exact change in hand, and braced myself as I started feeding the machine. The bus didn't move, it sat there until I was at my seat. In Merida, as soon as one foot is on the bus it will take off. This bus was clean, air conditioned, and quite comfy. Again, not quite like the buses in Merida. A Few other major differences, no boomboxes, no itinerant musicians, no loud colorfull characters, no disobeyance of traffic laws, no sticky seats that wobble as the bus moves. Also, no flagging a bus down, there are designated stop spots, some with covered seating.

anyway, I got to the Theatre, bought my tickets, took a walk about, and got home again. I enjoyed it!

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in life in Richmond and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to my first GRTC ride

  1. Bev says:

    Wow! A lot has changed in your lives. I guess I need to read more blogs. Funny how your words about the city buses make me miss La Ermita as I sit here in El Campo (real name), TX. I love the dilapidated city buses and every thing that’s a part of them, but mostly because sometimes you just get tired of walking. I have to laugh about your new old house comments…can identify as our house here was built in the ’30s. But it has so much character. Good Luck to both of you in your new home and new adventures.

  2. Ah, Gringo life. Where’s the stickiness?

Leave a Reply

