Blue Apron

A friend was telling me about her subscription to Blue Apron, now if you've ever been to Puerto Vallarta MX you know that the Blue Chairs is a gay friendly area of the beach. But this is not the same at all.

Blue Apron is a home delivery subscription food service. Of course now I know about one, I am seeing them all over.

My friend sent me an invite for a free trial. I signed up.

What you get is a delivery of the portioned needs to create 3 meals for 2 persons. Yes, it is a little more than if you gathered the stuff yourself, but you don't have to buy bulk and pay more and have so much extra, what you are sent you use. That's the part I like the best, plus it takes the decision part away. I don't mind cooking, I just hate trying to figure out what to make.

 

My first delivery arrived yesterday –

it comes in a quilted cold wrap, and with freezer bags. The ingredients are all proportioned, and labeled, and with detailed recipe and instruction cards.
And although I am pescatarian, they do offer vegetarian options, I did not check for vegan options.
 
this is the haul for 3 meals for two, It ends up being just about 9usd per person, per meal.
I was quite excited to give it a shot, especially since I will be gone 2 weeks in November and Tom will be home alone. Tom is a follow the recipe kind of cook so this will be perfect for him, cook 2 portions and hopefull eat only one and save the other for later.
So I decided to give it a shot –
And decided to try a recipe the day it arrived. Tom and I worked the prep; cutting, peeling, etc, together. I did the cooking, Tom made the salad, and we both worked assembly.
Here are the ingredients for the Avocado Tempura Tortas.
They really were fairly easy to prep and prepare –
just some peeling, slicing, and chopping. I used one pan for each step so cleanup was easy. Some of you may have concerns over the trash, however, rest assured, just about everything is recyclable/reusable. You can recycle it yourself depending on you communities abilities. Or gather several weeks of deliveries and they will issue you a return lable.
Here are our finished tortas and cabbage carrot slaw.
Like I said, they were very good, fairly easy to make, and best of all, only a little salad was left over.
 
I think I will subscribe, Tom says, it was good, so go for it, guess that says it all.
 
 
 

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Blue Apron

  1. Andrea says:

    I might just give it a try one of these days! I sounds very nice

  2. joliet13 says:

    Interesting…do you have to sign up for every day?

    >

    • you sign up, a week in advance, for the upcoming week. you can check the 3 menu options, keep, or change, or skip altogether. I”ve sent you a coupon for your free trial week.

  3. Steve Cotton says:

    Someone has come up with a marvelous marketing idea.

  4. Jay says:

    From an under 55 word fiction short:

    Strung Along

    She knew it was over. It started innocently four months ago. Introduced by a friend, no less. Like clockwork, the deliciousness she’d been craving was hers just behind the door. Oh, how she’ll miss exploring worldly concepts, hand techniques, and the spiciness of completion. It’d been daring.
    Damn Blue Apron! Subscription cancelled: lack of payment.

    • my experience so far has been quite different. and so far, 2 meals out if 3 made and consumed, I am pleased and feel no diminshment to my either my prowess, or abilities.

      • Jay says:

        Lol…totally a tongue-in-cheek for the ease, mouth joy and introduction of new ingredients via BA (which I’ve also done for many many months). The end sentence being a disappointment for the story teller not paying the bill-as the box holds many waiting treasures.

Leave a Reply

