Untitled

I am having a bit of an emotional day.


We have been back in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico for 16 days. It's been a fun whirlwind 16 days. We had the closing and sold our house here, have visited with many many friends, not done much touristy stuff, but have eaten out quite a bit. We also sold my car, and even looked at smaller houses that would be easier to pack up and leave for long periods of time.


I am one of those personalities that needs down time, alone time, to recharge. Tom is recharged by people, and activity. So amazingly he is really enjoying himself, and I am feeling a bit drained, strained.

 

We spent some time in our old neighborhood last night. Ate at the corner cocina, saw some neighbors, walked by my 'former' house. I had to run my hand along the walls and door frames. Very emotional.

Now I am thrilled with the lady that bought my house. She loves my house, and garden, and I know she is going to take care of it, love it, enjoy it, and make it her own. I also now consider her a friend. Still, it was/is emotional. I had created my sanctuary in that house and garden.

you can visit our (Sherry's and mine) house at http://www.dreamhousemerida.com



Although I have returned every few months since moving to the USofA, I feel a bit distanced this time. As if I am cutting ties. Not with the friends, but with the place. This is no longer 'home'.


I now need to create my sanctuary there. The place I run to for emotional calm.


Of course the current political system is not helping. I am very concerned about the direction and leadership of the USofA. I continue to hope for the best, but am consistently confounded, and bewildered.


We will be home Monday. I am looking forward to it. Although there are worries about the transit through TSA, Customs, Immigration etc. Gads, the stories you read about.


oh how I will miss this glorious heat.

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Untitled

  1. I didn’t see you while you were here Debi… I feel you though… and then some. Jorge and I are also “changing”. Let’s keep in touch Friend.

  2. tancho says:

    Your house was beautiful, I wish that I was a fan of hot and humidy more, we’d be in Merida in stead of the high cool mountains. The pictures proved your love for the place, perhaps you might return with a smaller responsibility one day. Saludos.

    • Thank you, one does adjust and find ways to deal with the heat and humidity. I do see the benefits of your cool mountain air. I just really hate cold. Heat seeps in to me and gives me joy.

  3. Patti says:

    Darling Debi, “Home” is where your heart is. Your love and heart will always be here in Merida. We will always be your home. I love you. Patti

Leave a Reply

