I had to go shopping today

and if you are my friends you know how much I dislike shopping.

 

One of Tom's obsessions is shopping. Especially when he gets his teeth, claws, fangs on to something.

One of the first things Tom got excited about once we got here was motorcycles.

Although Tom has driven motorcycles since he was a kid, and we've both had motorcycle endorsements for years and years, we lost them when living out of country and our US drivers licenses expired.

So back in September Tom took a motorcycle safety course. Oddly, you need a motorcycle to take the exam at the DMV, however, if you take the motorcycle safety course you don't have to take the test. duh?

So now, armed with his motorcycle endorsement the scent was there.

Once Tom got the scent of the hunt, the search was on. And search he did, he found two great bikes, in great shape, and for great prices.

here is my bike –

So now the pressure is on. I just signed up for my motorcycle safety course … There are mandates for attire for these courses.

I had to buy jeans, long jeans. And boots, ankle boots with a short heel, and enough of a chunky grid on the bottom to prevent slipping. I also must wear a long sleeved shirt, gloves, and sunglasses, luckily I already have those. They provide the motorcycles and helmets.

here are my new boots –

no, those aren't my new 'long' jeans. They are leggins, one of my favorite leg covering.

AND, for the past week Tom has been adding a secondary shed to the shed he already built.

This secondary shed, is for the motorcycles, which are currently in a rented storage facility.

This burn is why you wear long, tough pants when riding a motorcycle. You don't anticipate this happening when all you are doing is allowing a motorcycle to run after sitting for 4 weeks. Lesson learned

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in motorcycles, shopping and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I had to go shopping today

  1. Pingback: queen of the highway | Life after Mérida, Debi in Richmond

  2. princesanancy2012 says:

    Congratulations! Enjoy and cuidate mucho. Ouch is all I can say about a bike burn. 😫 I too do not enjoy shopping.

  3. Eric Dunn says:

    Born to be wild. ENJOY!!!!!!

  4. Kevin K Donegan says:

    Debi, I think you need to consider shaving your legs. I like the “au natural” look but wow you can grow some long hairs.

  5. akturtle says:

    Wait …. is that just below the knee ? How the heck….????

  6. Patti says:

    I k now that shopping is your least favorite way to pass the time but the worst of it is shopping for shoes. YIKES. Good luck with the course.

Leave a Reply

