pickled Hungarian Wax Peppers

We are coming up on 11 months since our return to the USofA. As stated before it has been quite the culture shock after having lived out of country for nearly 11 years.

One of the biggest shocks for me are grocery stores. Buying food…oh my frickin gosh the choices available, and OH MY FRICKIN GOSH the prices.

I have sort of reverted to some of the practices I used in the 70’s when we found ourselves unemployed and living on 100usd per month in food stamps.

Lots of carbs, potatoes, pasta, rice with a variety of vegetables added. We’ve also taken to eating more eggs. And as always, and my favorite food — beans. I do love beans.

The Super I use has one bonus section for me, a markdown produce area. It is amazing to me the bargains I find there. It is my first stop when I enter, and what I find there will determine the rest of my purchases.

so the other day there was a good size bag with 1 orange bell pepper, .89cents per pepper on the regular rack, and about 20 hungarian wax peppers, usually 1.49 per pound. All for .99cents. yep, I bought it.

so what to do with 20+ mildly spicy peppers??? why pickle them of course.

so first thing was to clean, seed, and slice them. I decided to do strips.

Then after determining I had enough for nearly 3 pints I added 3 c white vinegar and 1/2 c water to a non reactive saucepan and set a medium high flame. To the sauce pan I also added 1 tablespoon of pickling spice, 3/4 tablespoon yellow mustard seed, 3/4 tablespoon salt, and 1 tablespoon sugar. While all this came to a boil I finished prepping the peppers. I also rough chopped 4 cloves of garlic, and thin sliced 1/2 medium red onion.

I mix the peppers, onion, and garlic and loosely filled the 3 pint jars, now my preference would have been 1/2 pint jars, unfortunately I didn’t have any.

I then poured the vinegar mix in to each jar trying to get an even distribution of pickling spice and mustard seeds.

I wiped the rims, set the lids and placed them in a large pot of low boiling water for about 15 minutes.

 

we’ll know in about a week how they taste. I did taste the vinegar mix and they may be a bit salty for my preference.

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to pickled Hungarian Wax Peppers

  1. this is my first attempt Mimi, I am bastardizing a recipe I found on the www.
    I never used this much salt in cucumber pickles. but these are chilis.

  2. Patti says:

    You go girl. I so do miss homer canning.

  3. akturtle says:

    I was wondering about the salt. Have you always added that much ?
    Meems

Leave a Reply

