queen of the highway

Tom and I met in 1972, not to long after that we moved in together, rather I moved in with him.  At some point he got a motorcycle. In 1974 we got married.

We traveled quite a bit on that motorcycle.  Over time we upgraded to bigger motorcycles.  Continued to travel on his motorcycle. Somewhere around 1991 I took a motorcycle safety course and got my own motorcycle.  We continued to travel, but now on 2 motorcycles;  Up until we moved to Mexico in 2006.  We both sold our motorcycles, and never bought or drove any whilst in Mexico.

I recently posted about shopping for boots for motorcycle riding, and taking another motorcycle safety course.

I took my course a few weeks ago, and passed.  It was a 2 day, 8hr a day course.  Pretty thorough, and a very good refresher and reminder of safety while riding.

There were 10 students, I was the oldest, including the instructors.  We spent 8 till about 11 in classroom, then went to the field for on bike training.

IMG_0616

our trusty steeds, waiting to be used and abused

IMG_0615

this was my ride for most of day 1, mid afternoon I had to trade out for another bike, the clutch was going out.

IMG_0617

I finished the course with Kiara, very spunky little bike.  

I passed my class, and got the certificate I needed to get my drivers license endorsed for 2 wheel vehicles.

I already had a motorcycle, Tom bought it, and his several months ago.

honda sabre1100

 

I recently got on mine.  Took it to a large parking lot and got familiar with the feel and operation.

The bikes we trained on were 125-250cc’s. and about 320pounds.  My bike is 1100cc and weighs about 615pounds.   This is the same type bike I had before we left, just different year, and color.

Going to need to do some short trips to get adjusted to the muscle groups needed for driving a motorcycle.  I am about 12 years older, and in way worse shape than when I used to drive.

But it’s going to be fun.

 

SAILCAT
“Motorcycle Mama”
 Tell your Daddy and your Mama too
You got something better to do
Stick around the house the rest of your life
You’re eighteen you can do what you like
You’ll be the queen of my highway
My motorcycle mama
We’ll see the world through my Harley

We’ll get matching jackets and helmets too
We’ll get respect from the towns we ride through
We’ll sleep at the roadside in the soft green grass
And if the squares walk by we’ll let them pass
You’ll be the queen of my highway
My motorcycle mama
We’ll see the world through my Harley

And maybe in a year or two
We’ll have a little one
She’ll look just like you
We’ll add on a sidecar
Electric guitar
We’ll be a trio
The baby makes three, oh

Tell your Daddy and your Mama too
You got something better to do
Stick around the house the rest of your life
You’re eighteen you can be my wife
You’ll be the queen of my highway
My motorcycle mama
We’ll see the world through my Harley
We’ll see the world through my Harley
We’ll see the world through my Harley
If the chain don’t break

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Everyday Stuff, motorcycles and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to queen of the highway

  1. Patti says:

    I love it. I can’t wait to see you both hitting the road with the wind through your hair. Glad that you are happy.

  2. Ah yes you do have my admiration. I bought my husband a Harley Sportster in 1972. I couldn’t drive but I liked to ride. My daughter could ride a 50cc bike when she was 9. She had the balance I lacked. You two will have many new adventures. Once we were riding to LA from San Fran and the oil plug came out. Somebody was watching over us because the next off ramp had a Harley dealership right at the exit. My daughter kept her dad’s bike although it didn’t work until a few years ago when she traded it to a very excited young man for a new retaining wall in front of her house. Ride on….

Leave a Reply

