Birdland, not the jazz fusion kind

As long as I can remember I have enjoyed looking at birds. I guess I am a novice amateur bird watcher.

I've gone on bird watching expeditions. I design my home gardens to attract both birds and butterflies, and enjoy tremendously sitting in my garden and watching them come and go.

I even keep an incomplete and rudimentary bird sighting list.

I heve some basic binoculars, and I have a pretty good binocular. And I have several bird identifying books.

So far in my Richmond garden I have placed bird feeders, and a birdbath. I haven't done much with regards to specific plantings.

Regardless of my lack of trying I have quite a lot of regulars; cardenals, mocking birds, robins, starlings, warblers, grackles, and a wide variety of sparrows and finches. I have not even started on id'ing the migratory birds.

Just recently I got off my duff and identified some mid size brownish birds I was unfamiliar with. Brown Thrashers: a first for me.

The Brown Thrashers are great fun to watch. They are archaeologists, constantly digging. They pound down so hard they lift their bodies off the ground. I am enjoying them very much.
yesterday I was sitting on the back porch and Tom was trimming one of the bushes. I noticed two little sparrows jumping in and out of the bush and had to stop him. We looked in the bush and there, close to the top, now practically exposed was their nest with 4 little mouths begging for food. Needless to say we discontinued the trimming and are hoping the little Chipping Sparrow babies make it.
 

One of these days I hope to identify all the variety of finches and sparrows.

I really like sitting in my garden and watching birds.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in birdwatching and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

