year one

One year ago today we arrived at our house here in Richmond Virginia – that's after having lived nearly 11 years in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico.

 

We actually left Mexico on 26 May; Tom, me, and three dogs – it was a long seven days. Days full of adventures – some good some bad.

 

 

So one full year in Richmond – what's it been like?


There've been a lot of changes and a lot of new experiences; a lot of angst, sadness, and happiness, it's been a mixed bag. But I think I like it. I've mostly settled in, become involved in a few new projects, the house is in pretty good shape. I have a small garden that is giving us lots of salad right now, and herbs, but that will also soon also give us squash, peas, beans, and more. I have a car, and now also a motorcycle.

The dogs seem to have adjusted to the cold – as have I, more or less. I do ok with the spring, summer, and fall cold, but not with the winter cold. It's just too much.

Richmond is expensive. This is difficult for me, the cost of things. I've lived my life being financially cautious, which worked to our advantage…we both were able to retire at young ages.


I'm adjusting. I do still miss my Merida life, my friends, my comfort. Richmond, actually the USofA still scares me. I really must stop listening to and reading the news.


I so enjoy the beauty of Richmond, the outdoors, the river, also the architecture and cleanliness. I enjoy the walks with the dogs along the river.

I enjoy the dining options. The craft breweries and brews. The free music at many of these same breweries, and to at many of the bars, and restaurants. Heck even several local museums have regular free music and concerts. Fabulous array of free music options. And festivals, goodness gracious the Festivals: Food Festivals, Cultural Festivals, Art Festival, Outdoor Festivals, Festivals for everything…


Oh, and don't even get me started on driving and the roads. I walked in Merida, mostly because driving was such a chore. The roads were/are horrible, the traffic insane, the driving abilities of others is horrifying.

Here in Richmond the roads are smooth, groomed almost. People drive according to prescribed rules, mostly. Drivers concede to pedestrians, mostly. I don't mind driving here at all.


When I left Merida I said I'd give it a year. I think I'll stay, at least for now.

 

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in eve, Everyday Life, Richmond Life, rva and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to year one

  1.  » une maladie tout court. » ?Non. c’est une maladie textuellementtransmissible.À l’aide de tracts et d’affiches par exemple.

  2. Rock says:

    That hits the target dead cerent! Great answer!

  3. Buck says:

    Felt so hopeless looking for answers to my queoiisns…unttl now.

  4. princesanancy2012 says:

    So glad you have adjusted to the new life😄
    Happiness is a state of.mind and a choice. I think you have made the right choice for you.
    Hurrah!!!!!
    Love to you both🙋

  5. Ah Debi… I have thought so often of you and Tom. When you left Merida, I could not imagine how that would feel, and now, just one year later, I am poised to move to Canada for 6 months. The plan is to do this from now one. As you did, I too will give it a year, and we’ll see how it goes… Jorge does not want to spend 6 months in Canada, but he will come for 2 during the summer. It is a huge step, but seeing that you have made your adjustments gives me hope that I’ll be able to make mine.

    • I had originally intended to only be here in VA for all but winter season. I really hate the cold. Tom had indicated he would come for a few weeks during winters. Just too much for us to contend with, sooooooo. Change is difficult, but we accept what we can and work around what we can’t.
      good luck to you and jorge.

  6. Your words about leaving Merida to live in the U.S. echo my own experience 6 years ago, when we sold our house in Merida and moved to Silverton, OR. Ditto to missing so many friends and the fun of Merida, and appreciating the cleanliness, mostly good driving, festivals and music of the states. For us, its the fabulous Willamette Valley wine country and stunning Oregon coast. But I miss the warmth, tropical breezes, and fascinating Maya culture and ruins of Yucatan. Winters in the Pacific Northwest are hard and lengthy. **Sigh.** Mostly a good change for us, as for you and Tom. Love, Lennie

    • Eel says:

      mon petit frère de 7 ans est lui-même un ancien diplomate. Oh c’est vrai qu’il n’a pas encore appris à baratiner comme Monsieur &l&ieo;anbsp;Luverrqer »..

  7. Shelagh says:

    I do not do moves well and a big one for me is coming up. Moving to Vancouver Island away from some friends and one son. I appreciate was you have shared and I think the year went fast.
    Greetings from Langley BC

  8. Patti Rogers says:

    Yes, you gave it a year. All change requires an adjustment period to be totally fair. I think that you have surprised even yourself. Each time that you have visited Merida, in the past year, you have been a little bit happier about the Richmond life. For sure from now until November will be the most beautiful time of year there. We will be seeing you in Merida in the winter. I love you both and will see you in a couple of weeks. I miss you terribly.

    • Jeanette says:

      I bow down humbly in the presence of such grntseeas.

    • “Phil’s quote dismissed the reasons that Jews left Arab countries, they only feared for their safety, not actively murdered. And, he exagerated the reasons that Arabs left Palestine in 1948, that they were only “ethnically cleansed” with no element of parallel fears.”The difference was that the fears of the Palestinians were based on massacres like those at Deir Yassin.

  9. Hammockman says:

    I understand. But I have some tears for you and that which you no longer have.

  10. Eric Dunn says:

    It is hard to believe that a year has passed. Great to read this and see the pictures! We MISS you and Tom very much. One thing you wouldn’t miss here right now is the HEAT. Thankful for the pool! Noche Blanca is quickly upon us as is Greg Cassini’s Craft Sale. Life goes on. Love to you both from me and Deb!

  11. allisonmphd says:

    Thanks for sharing your reflections! So much of your commentary comports with my own experiences. Add grandchildren into the mix… Since there is no perfect place, I guess I’m doomed to remain a vagabond!

Leave a Reply

