What a Jerk!

I am a pescatarian. 

Most people don’t know what that means so I usually just say vegetarian.

A pescatarian, according to wiki, is a vegetarian that also eats fish, dairy, and eggs.  I pretty much agree with that.

This past weekend there was a Vegetarian Festival here in Richmond.  

It was a very good event, and lots of people attended.

Although Tom is still a carnivore, he follows my pescatarian habits whilst at home; Although he does occasionally go out and buy, cook, and eat meat at home.

20160328-channa-masala-recipe-6-thumb-1500xauto-430840

 

At the Veg Fest I had a fabulous chani masala, which is a garbanzo masala, with basmati rice, beets, and salad. This is an Indian/Hindu dish.  It was awesome.

 

 

Tom ordered from another food stall a Jerk Tofu wrap, it too was seriously yummy.

I make Teriyaki Tofu regularly, and decided to try Jerk Tofu based on Tom’s wrap at the food fest. This is my first Jerk.   

IMG_1184.PNG

 

I googled Jerk Tofu recipes

and decided to give this one a try, 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So first step is to cut a dry the tofu, I cut mine a bit thinner than the recipe because I can dry the fillets faster.   Lay flat on a clean tea towel, Cover with another clean towel and add even weight.  Leave like this few hours.

IMG_0831

IMG_0832

Once the fillets are reasonably dry, remove the wet towel, cover with another clean dry towel or paper-towel and let rest several hours or overnight in fridge. I elevated my fillets on a baking rack to speed the drying and I didn’t need to turn them.

IMG_0833

Go ahead and make the marinade –

IMG_1182

The marinade is very thick, and seriously salty.  I do Love all the spices: cinnamon, allspice, nutmeg, and the dash of heat.

IMG_0835

I think next time I would not add the extra salt, and I would increase the black pepper and jalapeño, but that is to our particular taste.

After the tofu has sat in the fridge a few hours you place a layer of marinade in the bottom of a pan, and use the rest to cover the tofu fillets.  Let the marinade sit for several hours to overnight, turning every few hours.

Rather than frying I spray oiled a flat pan and baked the fillets at 300 f for about an hour, this gives the dryness to the exterior but doesn’t add any extra oil.

I started the process about 11am, and by 8pm, the tofu cutlets were cooked and all the bits n pieces to assemble our wraps were ready.

I used large whole wheat tortillas, cut in half just cuz they are easier to handle and then you can pick and choose how much you eat.  In fact half a wrap was more than enough.

IMG_0837IMG_0836

To create the wrap I put first, on half the half tortilla, a bed of lettuce, then a few slices of avocado, some mild chili peppers, and some marinated cucumber onion salad I had already in the fridge.  I topped that with 2 slices of jerk tofu, and added a drizzle of barbecue sauce.

They were very good, in fact Tom declared my wraps better than the vendors.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Everyday Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What a Jerk!

  1. Patti says:

    , this looks yummy I think that I will try it.

Leave a Reply

