This Old House

This old house, which really isn’t all that old, just a year or two older than me!

One of the things I decided to do, and have sort of done, is to have fun with this house.  Not to worry about convention and stereotypes.

Many of you may not know, but once upon a time, in a place far far away, and in a different life I worked in Interior Design.  I was great at creating environments for other people.  I could figure out what they wanted and deliver that to them.

I was no good at doing that for myself.  I think part of it was never knowing quite who I was or what I wanted to be.  Still not sure I’ve figured all that out.

So I decided when I started working on this house to just have fun with it.  And I have.  I really enjoy the space and the colors and whimsical eclectic feel of it.

So the other week I was in a thrift store and I saw this adorable wall shelf – I actually passed on it, then rethought and turned back for it. 

Two young millennial types were handling it, O M G. 

Finally they put it down and I snatched it.

IMG_0911

phew!

So look at this tag on the back, then notice the tiny Made in China sticker. 

I must say I get huge chuckles from this alone.

IMG_0910

But then again I also get pleasure now, seeing it on the wall in my dining room.

IMG_1010

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends.
This entry was posted in Around my Home, Everyday Stuff and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to This Old House

  1. Patricia Johnston says:

    Amazing color choice…looks fabulous!

  2. Really do like the horse head wall hanging, whether made in Atlanta or China. The vase goes nicely with it. Lovely.

  3. Melissa says:

    Love it. And love that you’re coloring outside the lines!

  4. You are so creative. Nice rescue.

Leave a Reply

