Spicy Pickled Apples

We were recently gifted a bushel of farm fresh apples. So Yummy.

So far I have dried 2x 1/2 gallon jars. Made 6 apple crisps, 4 now in the freeze, Tom made an apple pie, and we have given lots to friends and neighbors.

We have about 15 apples left and as I was trolling Insta I came across some ideas,

So this a.m., while Tom was making his brekkie, I decided to make some spicy pickled apples.

Heating the brine. Water, vinegar, salt, dehydrated jalapeños, dehydrated bell peppers, mustard seed, turmeric, mustard oil, and a bit a sugar for balance.

1/2 gallon of pickle, and 1/2 gallon of extra brine for other fun things.

Can’t wait till at least Monday to give them a try.

About Debi in Merida

I moved from Colorado Springs, Colorado USA to Merida, Yucatan, MX in January 2006. I love to read, garden, travel, and hang out with friends. Then in 2016 I moved to Richmond, Virginia, USA. Culture shock continues.
This entry was posted in Cooking, Everyday Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment